“I’m 40, Now What?”

40

On June 11th, I turned the Big 4.0., yes 40! Yeah Me! I’ve entered the 40 club! “ Well, I was expecting the over the top 40th birthday party, extravagant and expensive gifts, or maybe the trip of

a life time! Instead, I got the usual notifications on FB, personal calls that were warming and full of laughter, and failures to launch parties! Then I looked at me and yet again; I failed to plan for ME. Instead of the usual dinner with family and friends; I took time to evaluate myself, GOD provided accomplishments within a whole six months to the past year while in my last year in my thirties. I also thought about my struggles that I have been enduring in silence and my battles that I turned over to GOD. I took that time to relax near water and enjoy the view and myself.

After my “me” time, I started to feel a sense of being placed on the back burner, used, overlooked, minimized, or treated as “oh, it’s just another day.” Well, after praying about my whole birth date; I began to re-evaluate the circle of people who I have allowed in my life and then it was placed in my heart that it’s no ones responsibility to celebrate and love me but ME! At 40, and previous years I decided to do what’s best for me, my mental health, physical health, and my whole life while still raising my kids. What I have experienced in one day has taught me that I will have to find happiness in the things that I want to find happiness in and never look to anyone to make that decision for me.

Turning 40 is a huge milestone for any person. I still believe that it is what you make it. After last night, I left fear at the door, I left blame there too, I left waiting at the door mat, and I also left people’s opinions there, too. When I opened the door to 40 years on earth; I gained myself, respect, no care, myself with no strings attached and my ability to do what’s right for me. No matter what is or has been done; I am moving forward in my 40’s and will continue to knock down walls to greatness!

My Journey in my 40’s has just begun but life will continue to move on!

4 Comments

Leave a comment